Not Mom’s Rice Pudding.

Well, darn I always have a picture of my recipes but we were so fast to getting into the warm and tasty rice pudding I forgot to take a picture. A friend of ours Wendy (author of Henri & Friends) ask me to make her rice pudding for her birthday dessert. I have not thought about rice pudding in years it was something my Mother made that I just loved. I have learned over the years that I can not reproduce my Mom’s recipes. I don’t think it’s the recipe that I can’t reproduce it’s the feeling of coming to Mom’s kitchen with all the smells and watching what she love most ….cooking for friends and family.

Since Mom never used recipes I got online and found this simple stove top rice pudding….not bad but not Mom’s.

1 – 1/2 cups of uncooked white rice

4 cups of milk

2/3 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 beaten eggs

1-1/3 cup of golden raisins (I only used about a cup)

2 Tablespoons of butter

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Bring 3 cups of water to a boil, add rice and stir. Reduce heat cover and simmer 20 minutes.

In a saucepan, combine 3 cups of cooked rice, 3 cups milk, sugar and salt. Cook over medium heat until thick and creamy, about 15 to 20 minutes.  Stir in remaining 1 cup of milk with 2 beaten eggs and raisins. Cook 2 minutes more, constantly stirring.  Remove from heat and stir in butter and vanilla. Wonderful served warm with a dollop of whipped cream.

Leave a Reply

